Special Education

 All Children Can learn

Karen Liddell-Anderson — Learning Specialist

330-761-3145
kliddell@akron.k12.oh.us

Our motto: Learning for all through learning supports

The special education department is dedicated to the following beliefs:

  • All children can learn.
  •  All individuals deserve to be treated with respect.
  • We hold high expectations for student achievement.
  • The rights of children with disabilities should be upheld and honored.
  • All children will have access to and progress in the general education curriculum.
  • Special education is a service, not a place. 
  • A full continuum of services best supports the needs of children. 
  • An alignment must be created between a student's individual needs and educational services. 
  • Performance must be measured systematically.
  • The emphasis should be on the child, not on the disability. 
  • Integrity is essential to trust.
  • Communication should be by fact.
  • It takes an entire community to support a child.

 

Instructors

  • Elyane Fender

Email: efender@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Paul Gegick

Email: pgegick@apslearns.org

  • Brian Harris

Email: rbh29456@apslearns.org

  • Jodi Jennings

Email: jjenning@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Linda Owens

Email: lowens@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Alyssa Kraus

Email: akraus@apslearns.org

  • Debby Oyler

Email: doyler@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Melissa Pontius

Email: mpontius@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Jennifer Reid-Nicodemus

Email: jreidnic@apslearns.org

  • Theodore Rubin

Email: trubin@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Scott Schopper

Email: sschoppe@akron.k12.oh.us

  • Elyane Fender
Email: lyork@apslearns.org 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.