Mathematics

Math

— Learning Specialist

The Akron Public Schools and Firestone High School Mathematics Curriculum establishes high expectations for all students. This K-12 curriculum is designed to ensure that all students have an opportunity to become mathematically literate, are capable of extending their learning, have an equal opportunity to learn, and become informed citizens capable of understanding issues in a changing technological society.

All students will be provided access to the full range of mathematical topics beginning in kindergarten and continuing through graduation. Students will be confident in their ability to use practical application as well as appreciate its elegance.

All students will be challenged by rigorous and relevant mathematics instruction with the focus on understanding mathematical concepts. Mathematics includes problem solving, reasoning, communicating, and applying mathematics to other curricular areas.

All students have the right to learn and to develop power over significant mathematical concepts.

FHS students must be prepared to pursue a wide range of career options including those that are yet to be defined. In order for all students to become mathematically powerful, the curriculum and instruction must be meaningful - relevant, coherent, engaging.

Students, through mathematics, must learn to formulate and solve problems using a variety of strategies, verify and interpret results, and generalize solutions using real-world or relevant situations.

Teachers must engage in continuous effective professional development in both the science of mathematics and the art of pedagogy.

Assessment of student learning must be varied and aligned with the Mathematics Graded Course of Study, state and national standards including both formative and summative evaluations.

Instructors


James Beaver
Email : jbeaver@apslearns.org

Christine Cerny
Email : ccerny@apslearns.org

Jill Hanigofsky
Email : jhanigof@apslearns.org

Zach Geiser
Email : zlg45877@apslearns.org

Jeff Levine
Email : jlevine@apslearns.org

David Harter
Email : dharter@apslearns.org

Nicole Shoenfelt
Email : nschoenfe@apslearns.org

Lindsey Stefan
Email : lstefan@apslearns.org

Jennifer Walls
Email : jwalls@apslearns.org

Brian Walsh
Email : bwalsh@apslearns.org 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.